A weekend retreat at Riverwood Inn hosted by Deidre Edison Clarke

Well the weekend is over and it’s back to work I go.  It was an amazing weekend scrapping with some extremely talented ladies.  It was so nice to be able to walk around and look at other peoples ideas to get ideas for your own layouts or sit around at the breakfast table for 2 hours drinking lots of tea and coffee and chatting with 3 different groups of breakfast ladies (that’s right, I stayed there so long I saw 3 different groups at my table haha).  Oh the joy of relaxing!  Sounds like I didn’t do much but gab hey?  Nope, I did do some scrapbooking.

I attended Deidre’s class.  We made 2 wonderful layouts using earth tone paper which I love because the picture becomes the main focal point of the layout.

Image

The first one I completed is a picture of my youngest daughter (now 13 years old).  This kid came out of the womb running.  She is so active during the day that she falls in the bed at nighttime from sheer exhaustion.  It is a favorite pic of mine because she was actually taking the time to smell the flowers that day!

ImageThe second layout is about my oldest daughter (now almost 22).  She was so excited that day to feed the reindeer who she thought was Rudolph.  She was very pleased when she saw this layout yesterday.  A wonderful memory from a family vacation to NS and PEI.

ImageThe next class was Renee’s 2 page layout class using a new cutting system from Creative Memories.  I was so excited to scrapbook this as it was my granddaughter’s first concert and we all had a blast.  It was so sweet to see her face light up and here her calling out “Toopy, Binoo”.  These moments really touch my heart!  I enjoyed the concert so much (clapping my hands and singing) that I had to be reminded by my daughter that we were at the concert for Isabella and not me! HAHA

ImageThis is from the 3rd class that I signed up for.  It was a class Michelle hosted on how to make these adorable photo books from toilet paper rolls (that’s right, toilet paper rolls!).  These are so nice and very easy to make.  I will definitely be making more of these, what a wonderful way to use up your scraps of paper and all you need is 1 – 12 x 12 sheet of paper!

ImageI loved this paper.  It reminds me of how wonderful the great outdoors can be and how much fun the fall of the year is.  This is a picture of my youngest daughter and my nieces oldest son.  They had a blast in the leaves that day and I had to continually rake them in piles so they could jump in them.

ImageThis is a layout of my dad and mom with my oldest daughter.  A very cherished picture as they are both gone now.  I put the journalling for this one in an envelope on the back of the layout.  My daughter gets quite emotional when she sees pics of her nan and pop so it’s tucked away there for when she feels up to reading it.

I went to bed Friday night out of exhaustion (had the flu) and frustration with this layout as I hit a creative brick wall.  I left the layout on the table and when I returned the next morning, one of the wonderful ladies from the next table had laid the lace and rosette ribbon in the exact place I was having trouble with.  I thought it was an elf at the time!!!!

ImageThis is a picture that I had put away for the retreat.  I love Isabella’s reflection in the puddle.  The elegance of the Graphic 45 kit was just the right match for the picture.  Really enjoyed scrapping this as I love that kid more than life itself.

ImageAn organization that I was part of completed a teddy bear drive for the local hospital and delivered them just before Christmas.  4 days later my daughter hit her head on the leg of the kitchen table and split her head open requiring 5 stitches.  Imagine her glee when she received one of the bears that we had donated.  I tucked the journalling for this one on the card that is peeking out of the left side of the layout.

Well, that’s all for now folks.  I have one more layout to post but have to get a black and white picture.  Stay tuned.

For any of you who would like to attend a retreat, I would highly recommend this one.  The food A+, accommodations A+, and the awesomeness of all attending AA++++.

Here is the link just in case you are in the mood to have an amazing weekend!

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Friverwoodinn.ca%2F&h=vAQEH0OfQ

Cheers,

Rexene

2 thoughts on “A weekend retreat at Riverwood Inn hosted by Deidre Edison Clarke

  1. Beautiful layouts Rexene !! So sorry I missed this one. Always a great time with Diedre and the gang !! I won’t be missing the one in October. Maybe we can make the long drive together !! LOL Hugs to you

Leave a Reply

